Sunday, November 20, 2011

The Iron King by Julie Kagawa

The Iron King By Julie Kagawa
Pages: 363 (Paperback)
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Released In: Feb 1st, 2010

" Meghan Chase has a secret destiny—one she could never have imagined…
Something has always felt slightly off in Meghan's life, ever since her father disappeared before her eyes when she was six. She has never quite fit in at school…or at home.
When a dark stranger begins watching her from afar, and her prankster best friend becomes strangely protective of her, Meghan senses that everything she's known is about to change.
But she could never have guessed the truth—that she is the daughter of a mythical faery king and is a pawn in a deadly war. Now Meghan will learn just how far she'll go to save someone she cares about, to stop a mysterious evil no faery creature dare face…and to find love with a young prince who might rather see her dead than let her touch his icy heart." Goodreads.

There is so much I’d want to say about The Iron King. I want to just go on a complete rant on my love for this book, what my favorite part is, and how much I love the characters. I will keep myself from doing that so I don’t let any spoilers slip. From the moment I saw its beautiful eye-catching cover and title, even before I read what the book was about I knew I just had to read it. And that is exactly what I did. First thing that catches my attention is that the story is about faeries, not just any kind of faerie, but the mystical kind that are captivating and interesting and at the same time they are scary and mysterious. Completely enchanting.
The Iron King had me from the start. Being sucked into this completely different world, I just could not put the book down. The main characters are not difficult to like either. Meghan is smart with a strong attitude, someone who is willing to put others first before herself.  She takes you through a drastic change in her life. I adored Puck, he was witty and charming. And Ash, probably my favorite character out of the bunch! However, I can’t help but love a lot of the characters for the simple fact that they were unique in their own way. The story had me completely locked onto this book like super glue. I could not put it down until I finished it. Meghan’s journey is something you do not want to miss. Did I mention how awesome Ash is? Well, he is pretty awesome. Of course this book brings its Love-Triangle, and as you can see, I already have picked my side.
I am still in ‘awe’ with what I’ve read. As a reader who absolutely loves the idea of a faery world, this just pretty much fed that yearning for a book to cover that. And boy did it cover it! It left me wanting to read more from this wonderful author.  Thankfully I’m in luck, because this story continues in The Iron Daughter. This is a book I would totally reread over. The Iron King is filled with a lot of awesome and a lot of ‘oh heeeck no!’. If this book is keeping you away for the fear that it may be more romantic or cheesy, then that is not the case for this one! It has its great share of action and adventure with an equal balance to romance.  If you haven’t read this book then I suggest you get to it! This is a book you would not want to miss out on.

Monday, November 14, 2011

Evermore by Alyson Noel

Evermore by Alyson Noel
Pages: 301 (Paperback)
Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin
Released in: Feb 3rd, 2009

"Since a horrible accident claimed the lives of her family, sixteen-year-old Ever can see auras, hear people’s thoughts, and know a person’s life story by touch.   Going out of her way to shield herself from human contact to suppress her abilities has branded her as a freak at her new high school—but everything changes when she meets Damen Auguste…
Ever sees Damen and feels an instant recognition.  He is gorgeous, exotic and wealthy, and he holds many secrets.  Damen is able to make things appear and disappear, he always seems to know what she’s thinking—and he’s the only one who can silence the noise and the random energy in her head.  She doesn’t know who he really is—or what he is.  Damen equal parts light and darkness, and he belongs to an enchanted new world where no one ever dies." Goodreads.


When I bought this book I immediately thought: Twilight meets Sarah Dessen!! It is kind of like that, in the sense of the romance being very simple with dangerous plots. However I liked the idea of this other world they were part of, it was a magical place where the guy would see the girl in her dreams. The main guy, Damen, was pretty hot, as always! Ever, the main girl was recovering from her family’s death and saw her little brother’s ghost, which made the story a little sad at points. She was very solititary and somehow ends up attracted to the mysterious new boy.
I liked the beginning of the story and how they got to know each other, they were total opposites: she was dark, he was sociable. One thing I did not like about this story was that there was another girl and she was felt as competition for Ever, which I rooted for. Other than that I did like the ending and found some things a little cheesy, but overall the story’s heart was in the right place.
Read and you will swoon over the lead and root for Ever to get the guy!
P.S. On a very obvious side note: We are back from our Hibernation!!! We are sorry we got off track, and expect many more book review and cool stuff!!!

Tuesday, April 12, 2011

Waiting On Wednesday (3)

The Goddess Test (Goddess Test, #1)Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Jill @ Breaking The Spine. A book meme where you show what book you are excitedly waiting for to be released!

My (Awesome) Pick:
The Goddess Test by
Aimee Carter (Goodreads Author)
It's always been just Kate and her mom—and her mother is dying. Her last wish? To move back to her childhood home. So Kate's going to start at a new school with no friends, no other family and the fear her mother won't live past the fall.  
Then she meets Henry. Dark. Tortured. And mesmerizing. He claims to be Hades, god of the Underworld—and if she accepts his bargain, he'll keep her mother alive while Kate tries to pass seven tests.

Kate is sure he's crazy—until she sees him bring a girl back from the dead. Now saving her mother seems crazily possible. If she succeeds, she'll become Henry's future bride, and a goddess.

OMG...I have to read this book! I am a big Greek mythology geek; I fell in love with this cover it is so beautiful and the story is even prettier! I found this book in my fellow blog-anchor jess’s Goodreads To-Read pile. And it looks awesome; I really like the idea of Kate’s love interest “Dark. Tortured. And mesmerizing.” What a catch you are Henry, not to mention he is Hades-the underworld god! And he will take Kate as his bride with a bribe to save her mom. I am sure romance will ensue, and perhaps Kate will make Henry have a soul and what’s more show him what love is! This novel is going to be interesting, I have never heard of such a testing and twisted way to find love. I hope you can all get a chance to preorder or borrow and read it when it comes out this April 19th 2011.
P.s. What do you think these seven tests are? Comment your guess! =D

Saturday, April 9, 2011

In My Mailbox (3)

In my mailbox is hosted by Kristi @ The Story Siren. This week I only have one book, since I'm saving up for a lot of books that I plan to get in the near future. In my first IMM, I got Spirit Bound by Richelle Mead. This week I got Blood Promise by Richelle Mead, because it's the book before that one! But, now I can continue reading the Vampire Academy books! YAY!
Blood Promise (book #4) by Richelle Mead

-What did you get in your IMM?
-Any books you recommend? --Jess

Friday, April 8, 2011

Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict by Laurie Viera Rigler

Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict by
Laurie Viera Rigler Pages: 304 (Hardcover)
Publisher: Dutton Adult
Realeased in: August 2, 2007

(source: Goodreads)

 In this Jane Austen-inspired comedy, love story, and exploration of identity and destiny, a modern LA girl wakes up as an Englishwoman in Austen's time.

After nursing a broken engagement with Jane Austen novels and Absolut, Courtney Stone wakes up and finds herself not in her Los Angeles bedroom or even in her own body, but inside the bedchamber of a woman in Regency England. Who but an Austen addict like herself could concoct such a fantasy?

Not only is Courtney stuck in another woman's life, she is forced to pretend she actually is that woman; and despite knowing nothing about her, she manages to fool even the most astute observer. But not even her love of Jane Austen has prepared Courtney for the chamber pots and filthy coaching inns of nineteenth-century England, let alone the realities of being a single woman who must fend off suffocating chaperones, condomless seducers, and marriages of convenience. Enter the enigmatic Mr. Edgeworth, who fills Courtney's borrowed brain with confusing memories that are clearly not her own.

Try as she might to control her mind and find a way home, Courtney cannot deny that she is becoming this other woman-and being this other woman is not without its advantages: Especially in a looking-glass Austen world. Especially with a suitor who may not turn out to be a familiar species of philanderer after all.

I am a huge Jane Austen fan, so I naturally freaked over this book. The main character Courtney is sent backwards in time to Regency Era in London and surprise it is very different! I had a lot of expectations for this book, maybe I set myself for failure. I was expecting a tall dark brooding Mr.Darcy (from P&P) to jump out of every single scene (I know, delusional) but I was disappointed with the male lead--he was more realistic and according to his time than I like. It was funny and a good read, but not a lot of romance-->which was why I was there! I did find a lot of the main character’s comments and situations funny and actually laughed and enjoys a specific scene in there, which I recommend if you are a Jane Austen fan. Overall I enjoyed it, I would recommend it to Jane Austen fans—but if you are looking for romance look elsewhere.

Tuesday, April 5, 2011

Waiting On Wednesday (2)

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Jill @ Breaking The Spine. A book meme where you show what book you are excitedly waiting for it release.

My Pick:
The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

" Mara wakes up from a coma with no memory of the accident that caused the deaths of her best friend, boyfriend, and boyfriend's sister. The doctors tell her parents that starting over in a new state, a new school will be good for her and to let the memories come back on their own. But Mara's new start is anything but when she sees the faces of her dead friends everywhere and her world is falling apart. And then she begins to see people's deaths before they happen - at least she thinks that is what is happenning. On top of that, the most beautiful boy she has ever seen can't seem to leave her alone, but is his agenda more than he leads on?" Goodreads

Here we go readers! I’m pretty sure many of you have already seen this book in other blogs, but for those of you who haven’t – voila! I have to say, my jaw dropped to the floor when I saw that beautiful cover! The colors, they’re so pretty, and it sends of this vibe that just screams “I will blow you away!” It could just only be me! I absolutely love the figures on the cover, it took me a while to realize there was a guy behind the girl, made it even cooler!
Now, the plot sounds awesome. Especially the part where Mara starts to see the way people die before it comes true. What really got me intrigued is when it mentions that the most beautiful boy won’t leave her alone. What does he want? Or . . . what is he? that's my question. I get a bunch of ideas, but who knows. The only way to find out about this book is to read it! And I am seriously stoked till the day it is released! The cover itself just grabs your attention, and the summary as its partner-in-crime gives this book a place on my TBR pile!

Saturday, April 2, 2011

In My Mailbox (2)

Hey fellow readers!! Welcome to IMM, hosted by Kristi at The Story Siren! Lets get started! This week I only have one book. It's time to pick it up and give it some love! This book was first in the hands of Le Petit's blogger, Eela. She was really nice to pass it down to me.<3
Kiss Me Kill Me by Lauren Henderson

Happy Reading! -- Jess
Also. . . City of Fallen Angels will be out soon!! I'm excited! Are you?

Friday, April 1, 2011

Forget You by Jennifer Echols

Forget You by Jennifer Echols
Pages: 304 (paperback)
Publisher: MTV
Realeased in: July 20th, 2010

There’s a lot Zoey would like to forget. Like how her father has knocked up his twenty-four- year old girlfriend. Like Zoey’s fear that the whole town will find out about her mom’s nervous breakdown. Like darkly handsome bad boy Doug taunting her at school. Feeling like her life is about to become a complete mess, Zoey fights back the only way she knows how, using her famous attention to detail to make sure she’s the perfect daughter, the perfect student, and the perfect girlfriend to ultra-popular football player Brandon. But then Zoey is in a car crash, and the next day there’s one thing she can’t remember at all—the entire night before. Did she go parking with Brandon, like she planned? And if so, why does it seem like Brandon is avoiding her? And why is Doug—of all people— suddenly acting as if something significant happened between the two of them? Zoey dimly remembers Doug pulling her from the wreck, but he keeps referring to what happened that night as if it was more, and it terrifies Zoey to admit how much is a blank to her. Controlled, meticulous Zoey is quickly losing her grip on the all-important details of her life—a life that seems strangely empty of Brandon, and strangely full of Doug." Goodreads.

Forget you is a beautiful book. It’s so hard to form a proper review for this, because it makes me want to say so much. Nonetheless, this is a book I would not spoil for anyone! It is epically worth the read!
The story is so different from anything I’ve read so far. The main character, Zoey, gets into an accident and forgets everything that she did the night before. Of course, this would have been a not so bad thing if two boys weren’t involved in the mysterious night. What did she do?  It keeps you at the edge of your seat, letting your mind formulate different scenarios as to what had happened. Doug’s attitude takes a complete turn with Zoey, so much that she fears what she is trying to remember. Brandon acts differently as well. This makes you ask yourself, “what happened?! “

 These were page turners! Not only because of the story, but because of the characters too! They are so interestingly developed, that you feel like you’re Zoey. You see why she acts certain ways and approaches her situation differently. Zoey is a girl who is set on being perfect with the grades and relationships. Even so, with that type of mentality, I grew to understand her. I absolutely love the way Echols creates the characters relationship, it makes it real and possible. They don’t just jump into love from one moment to next! But you actually see that relationship form and attract the other person. Brandon, with his handsome looks comes off as someone harmless and yet, is not. He has an interesting mix of characteristics that is hard to explain without spoiling anything. However, Doug was a charming character, and oh so sexy. I grew to love him the instant I began reading. He’s realistic with a more-behind-this-face kind of thing. However not only do you read the attraction, but you feel it too when reading the book. Sex is a big topic in this book, it mentions it a lot. This only made the book a better read, because truthfully it’s part of a love life. It does not give anything explicit, but Echols certainly does know how to cleanly slip in a few “WOOHOO”s with very little words. This book is one that you do not want to pass by. At all.
I love this book! Take it for granted that I will be reading more of Echols books in the near future!
Thanks for reading!
-- Jess

Thursday, March 31, 2011

Inside Out by Maria V. Snyder

Inside Out (Inside Out, #1)
Inside Out by Maria V. Snyder
Pages: 315 (paperback)
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Released in: March 24th 2010 

Keep Your Head Down.
Don't Get Noticed.
Or Else.

I'm Trella. I'm a scrub. A nobody. One of thousands who work the lower levels, keeping Inside clean for the Uppers. I've got one friend, do my job and try to avoid the Pop Cops. So what if I occasionally use the pipes to sneak around the Upper levels? The only neck at risk is my own…until I accidentally start a rebellion and become the go-to girl to lead a revolution.

This book has everything I liked in a YA novel: a unique plot, romance, suspense, mystery and most important--> A heroin I liked!! It is a traditional dystopia: the “Trava officers” (pop cops) run everything and life is miserable for all of the lowly scrubs in the lower levels and the workers in the upper levels. The really intriguing thing is the author, Snyder, she creates a world like no other; you get a sense of underground pipes as their world.

Trella is a scrub in the lower levels, the same as everybody else: brown hair, brown eyes she cleans the pipes because she is small enough to (talk about career placement). Until she gets involved in her friend's, Cog, illusions of an “outside world”. I really liked Trella because she was very logical and action based, which is very hard to come by in YA novels. Trella believes there is nothing and she is very unwilling to trust and do anything for this “outside” that may not exist. Nevertheless she becomes the person we as readers want here to be: the leader to the revolution.

At first Trella is the anti-social Queen of the Pipes scrub, until she starts seeing the reality of her life and meets Riley. Riley is her, you guessed it, love interest and he shows her that life isn’t peachy on the upper levels either. Riley is sweet, cute and adorable! If I could have my own Riley, I would. He is just so perfect, in an imperfect way, and human. Warning though, this is not completely all romance based, remember our girl needs to complete a mission, so Riley does not show up as much as I wanted him to but the story moves on without him. Overall I consider this the best good read I have had in a while. It is action packed and suspense is at every corner: will she be caught or will she succeed?
So read it! And the sequel: Outside In.

Tuesday, March 29, 2011

Waiting on Wednesday (1)

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Jill over at Breaking the Spine. It's a weekly meme where you share with others the books you're eagerly waiting for their release.

My Pick:
But I love Him by Amanda Grace

" Tonight was so much worse than anything before it. Tonight he didn't stop after the first slap.

At the beginning of senior year, Ann was a smiling, straight-A student and track star with friends and a future. Then she met a haunted young man named Connor. Only she can heal his emotional scars; only he could make her feel so loved — and needed. Ann can't recall the pivotal moment it all changed, when she surrendered everything to be with him, but by graduation, her life has become a dangerous high wire act. Just one mistake could trigger Connor's rage, a senseless storm of cruel words and violence damaging everything — and everyone — in its path.
This evocative slideshow of flashbacks reveals a heartbreaking story of love gone terribly wrong." Goodreads

First, that cover is amazingly beautiful. It’s so simple, but I love the heart. I love how the broken shards form the heart. I just love it!
Second, the story itself is intriguing. It’s completely different from something I would read. That was the reason why I want to read this so badly, and I can’t wait until it comes out. It oozes out with something that is so real and happens often. I don’t see the reason not to read it! By only reading the summary it seems that it’ll be something with an impact. It'll leave its young readers thinking and unable to put this book down.
Can’t wait!

Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare

Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices, #1)
Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare
Pages: 478
Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry
Released in: Aug 31, 2010

"Magic is dangerous--but love is more dangerous still.

When sixteen-year-old Tessa Gray crosses the ocean to find her brother, her destination is England, the time is the reign of Queen Victoria, and something terrifying is waiting for her in London's Downworld, where vampires, warlocks and other supernatural folk stalk the gaslit streets. Only the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the world of demons, keep order amidst the chaos.

Kidnapped by the mysterious Dark Sisters, members of a secret organization called The Pandemonium Club, Tessa soon learns that she herself is a Downworlder with a rare ability: the power to transform, at will, into another person. What's more, the Magister, the shadowy figure who runs the Club, will stop at nothing to claim Tessa's power for his own.

Friendless and hunted, Tessa takes refuge with the Shadowhunters of the London Institute, who swear to find her brother if she will use her power to help them. She soon finds herself fascinated by--and torn between--two best friends: James, whose fragile beauty hides a deadly secret, and blue-eyed Will, whose caustic wit and volatile moods keep everyone in his life at arm's length...everyone, that is, but Tessa. As their search draws them deep into the heart of an arcane plot that threatens to destroy the Shadowhunters, Tessa realizes that she may need to choose between saving her brother and helping her new friends save the world...and that love may be the most dangerous magic of all."

Amazing. I’m utterly speechless at how much I enjoyed this book. At first, I deliberately read it because I believed that it was not going to live up to the Mortal Instruments series in my eyes. But, I’m glad that it proved me wrong. From the start, I loved the idea that this was set in the Victorian era of London. Just with that, it hooked me in. Next, the Characters were very different and absolutely addicting. I couldn’t ask for more. Then there is the plot, a complete head turner.
Tessa Gray surprisingly turned out to be a strong fearless girl. I would have fainted and screamed like a mad-woman! I actually liked Tessa, which can be rare when it comes to female characters. But, the way she takes hold of her events is one to admire. And of course, Clare’s books cannot hit a homerun without her main male characters. They pretty much steal sighs and “omg”s. Meet Will Herondale, with his intense blue eyes and witty personality; he will rob your heart! I went giddy over him. And still am! His little remarks make him dangerously attractive. I enjoyed the sparks that flew between these two characters, it made the situation of the story stand out more. James is another character who you will stumble upon in this book, and surprisingly he will steal your heart too! I couldn’t help but feel torn between who was my favorite.
The plot is unbelievably engaging. While reading the book I believed that I had everything figured out. But the twists are so surprising! I felt like I was on a roller coaster, with each turn I read something that was unexpected. This small review could not sum up the excitement I feel even after finishing Clockwork Angel. The book has a way of slowly picking you up into its world and then throwing you into a whirl wind of events.
This book actually works so well with the Mortal Instruments series! It doesn’t give anything away from that series, and yet it flows amazingly well alongside it. Like ying and yang. I can’t wait for the next book! -- Jess

Sunday, March 20, 2011

In My Mailbox (1)

Hey guys! This week I'll be doing an IMM. In My Mailbox is hosted by The Story Siren.  I'm super excited to read all of these, because they all sound so great!! Check them out below!

                  Delirium (Delirium, #1)Falling Under (Falling Under, #1)Forget You
Delirium by Lauren Oliver -Goodreads /Amazon / Barnes&Noble
Falling Under by Gwen Hayes -Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes&Noble
Forget You by Jennifer Echols- Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes&Noble

                     The Iron King (Iron Fey, #1)The Iron Daughter (Iron Fey, #2)The Iron Queen (Iron Fey, #3)
 Iron King by Julie Kagawa - Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes&Noble
Iron Daughter by Julie Kagawa - Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes&Noble
Iron Queen by Julie Kagawa - Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes&Noble

                                                             Spirit Bound (Vampire Academy, #5)
Spirit Bound (Vampire Academy #5) by Richelle Mead

 For Review:
(This book was recieved by Goodreads First Reads)
Gone with a Handsomer Man by Michael Lee West

Hope you fellow readers found something interesting to check out! - Jess

Tuesday, March 15, 2011

Hush, Hush By Becca Fitzpatrick

Hush, Hush By Becca Fitzpatrick
Pages: 391 (Paperback)
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Released in: Oct 13, 2009

"For Nora Grey, romance was not part of the plan. She's never been particularly attracted to the boys at her school, no matter how much her best friend, Vee, pushes them at her. Not until Patch came along. With his easy smile and eyes that seem to see inside her, Nora is drawn to him against her better judgment.

But after a series of terrifying encounters, Nora's not sure who to trust. Patch seems to be everywhere she is, and to know more about her than her closest friends. She can't decide whether she should fall into his arms or run and hide. And when she tries to seek some answers, she finds herself near a truth that is way more unsettling than anything Patch makes her feel.

For Nora is right in the middle of an ancient battle between the immortal and those that have fallen - and, when it comes to choosing sides, the wrong choice will cost her life."

When laying my eyes on that gorgeous cover for the first time I knew I had to get my hands on it! Immediately. However, when reading the little blurb behind the book I was unsure if this was my kind of book. Heck! Then again I have mistakenly pushed aside books that I later get obsessed over. So I thought, why not?!
Once cracking open this book, I was hooked! I could not stop reading it from start to finish. I read it in a day! The story is about a girl named Nora who meets the mysterious bad boy named Patch. How is he mysterious, you ask? Well, you’ll have to pick this book up! Of course, it’s not that hard to figure out if you just look at that pretty cover. Well once they meet, the rest is basically history. At first Nora Grey aggravated me, and I’ll be honest she still irks a part of me. But the book contained a sort of pull that made me want to know where this was leading into.
Patch . . . oh Patchy Patch, how I swooned over this character. It could have been because there were vague similarities with a certain book. I would like to say that Patch was my favorite out of the characters in the book. Not because he was male! But, he was not how I expected him to be. I love the way he is portrayed- flirty, sexy, and dangerous. The Story had its little twists and turns and I just loved how it built up the small suspense. I had loads of fun reading it, and it was a light read.
This serves as a romantic /cute book to read (your perfect fix). I recommend that you give this one a try and read it. . . And ASAP! Thanks for Reading!
-- Jess

Welcome to the Le Petit Book Review Blog!!!!

Just Listen
I recently just finished reading this romance/young adult novel by Sarah Dessen!! This is my first review and I am happy to say this book exceeded my expectations of it. The first time I read the summary I was just about to bolt, until I pushed myself to read it. Lucky for me this is a really great book. The chemistry between Annabel+ Owen was just sweet and real.
Now, if you are looking for a twilight obsession love-you’re not going to find it in this novel. But what you do see is a story about this girl, Annabel Greene, who meets an outsider just like her. Owen is the angriest kid in her school, and one day he sees her break down and their friendship starts from there. He is truthful, (which I found totally sexy believe it or not!), and listens to weird music but he opens her up to herself and to the lies she tells. Overall this book made me want to meet a real life Owen. It was upbeat until the end, when everything is reviled. I won’t tell you the secret that she has been keeping, except that it was a experience. I will leave the rest up to you.So w/out judgment or words "Just Read"