Wednesday, January 4, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday (4)

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Jill @ Breaking The Spine. A book meme where you show what book you are excitedly waiting for it's release.
Article 5

My Pick:
Article 5 by Kristen Simmons
"New York, Los Angeles, and Washington, D.C., have been abandoned.

The Bill of Rights has been revoked, and replaced with the Moral Statutes.

There are no more police—instead, there are soldiers. There are no more fines for bad behavior—instead, there are arrests, trials, and maybe worse. People who get arrested usually don't come back.

Seventeen-year-old Ember Miller is old enough to remember that things weren’t always this way. Living with her rebellious single mother, it’s hard for her to forget that people weren’t always arrested for reading the wrong books or staying out after dark. It’s hard to forget that life in the United States used to be different.

Ember has perfected the art of keeping a low profile. She knows how to get the things she needs, like food stamps and hand-me-down clothes, and how to pass the random home inspections by the military. Her life is as close to peaceful as circumstances allow.

That is, until her mother is arrested for noncompliance with Article 5 of the Moral Statutes. And one of the arresting officers is none other than Chase Jennings…the only boy Ember has ever loved." Goodreads

I specifically chose this great new book just as I saw it the other day on Good reads! The front cover makes this tale look fascinating and almost like a comic book. I am really interested in the idea of this dystopia, the whole stripped of your right and “moral codes”. This already makes for a great read, but what really got me was the last bit the author decided to write: the arresting officers is none other than Chase Jennings…the only boy Ember has ever loved I instantly had the thought: This is going to be a great Romance/Dystopia packed with action and a love interest!!
Cannot wait until it is released on
January 13th 2012, just in a couple more days (hang on there!).
Comment what you think, link any reviews you've done on this book (or any!) and add it on your TBR!


Sunday, November 20, 2011

The Iron King by Julie Kagawa

The Iron King By Julie Kagawa
Pages: 363 (Paperback)
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Released In: Feb 1st, 2010

" Meghan Chase has a secret destiny—one she could never have imagined…
Something has always felt slightly off in Meghan's life, ever since her father disappeared before her eyes when she was six. She has never quite fit in at school…or at home.
When a dark stranger begins watching her from afar, and her prankster best friend becomes strangely protective of her, Meghan senses that everything she's known is about to change.
But she could never have guessed the truth—that she is the daughter of a mythical faery king and is a pawn in a deadly war. Now Meghan will learn just how far she'll go to save someone she cares about, to stop a mysterious evil no faery creature dare face…and to find love with a young prince who might rather see her dead than let her touch his icy heart." Goodreads.

There is so much I’d want to say about The Iron King. I want to just go on a complete rant on my love for this book, what my favorite part is, and how much I love the characters. I will keep myself from doing that so I don’t let any spoilers slip. From the moment I saw its beautiful eye-catching cover and title, even before I read what the book was about I knew I just had to read it. And that is exactly what I did. First thing that catches my attention is that the story is about faeries, not just any kind of faerie, but the mystical kind that are captivating and interesting and at the same time they are scary and mysterious. Completely enchanting.
The Iron King had me from the start. Being sucked into this completely different world, I just could not put the book down. The main characters are not difficult to like either. Meghan is smart with a strong attitude, someone who is willing to put others first before herself.  She takes you through a drastic change in her life. I adored Puck, he was witty and charming. And Ash, probably my favorite character out of the bunch! However, I can’t help but love a lot of the characters for the simple fact that they were unique in their own way. The story had me completely locked onto this book like super glue. I could not put it down until I finished it. Meghan’s journey is something you do not want to miss. Did I mention how awesome Ash is? Well, he is pretty awesome. Of course this book brings its Love-Triangle, and as you can see, I already have picked my side.
I am still in ‘awe’ with what I’ve read. As a reader who absolutely loves the idea of a faery world, this just pretty much fed that yearning for a book to cover that. And boy did it cover it! It left me wanting to read more from this wonderful author.  Thankfully I’m in luck, because this story continues in The Iron Daughter. This is a book I would totally reread over. The Iron King is filled with a lot of awesome and a lot of ‘oh heeeck no!’. If this book is keeping you away for the fear that it may be more romantic or cheesy, then that is not the case for this one! It has its great share of action and adventure with an equal balance to romance.  If you haven’t read this book then I suggest you get to it! This is a book you would not want to miss out on.

Monday, November 14, 2011

Evermore by Alyson Noel

Evermore by Alyson Noel
Pages: 301 (Paperback)
Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin
Released in: Feb 3rd, 2009

"Since a horrible accident claimed the lives of her family, sixteen-year-old Ever can see auras, hear people’s thoughts, and know a person’s life story by touch.   Going out of her way to shield herself from human contact to suppress her abilities has branded her as a freak at her new high school—but everything changes when she meets Damen Auguste…
Ever sees Damen and feels an instant recognition.  He is gorgeous, exotic and wealthy, and he holds many secrets.  Damen is able to make things appear and disappear, he always seems to know what she’s thinking—and he’s the only one who can silence the noise and the random energy in her head.  She doesn’t know who he really is—or what he is.  Damen equal parts light and darkness, and he belongs to an enchanted new world where no one ever dies." Goodreads.


When I bought this book I immediately thought: Twilight meets Sarah Dessen!! It is kind of like that, in the sense of the romance being very simple with dangerous plots. However I liked the idea of this other world they were part of, it was a magical place where the guy would see the girl in her dreams. The main guy, Damen, was pretty hot, as always! Ever, the main girl was recovering from her family’s death and saw her little brother’s ghost, which made the story a little sad at points. She was very solititary and somehow ends up attracted to the mysterious new boy.
I liked the beginning of the story and how they got to know each other, they were total opposites: she was dark, he was sociable. One thing I did not like about this story was that there was another girl and she was felt as competition for Ever, which I rooted for. Other than that I did like the ending and found some things a little cheesy, but overall the story’s heart was in the right place.
Read and you will swoon over the lead and root for Ever to get the guy!
P.S. On a very obvious side note: We are back from our Hibernation!!! We are sorry we got off track, and expect many more book review and cool stuff!!!

Tuesday, April 12, 2011

Waiting On Wednesday (3)

The Goddess Test (Goddess Test, #1)Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Jill @ Breaking The Spine. A book meme where you show what book you are excitedly waiting for to be released!

My (Awesome) Pick:
The Goddess Test by
Aimee Carter (Goodreads Author)
It's always been just Kate and her mom—and her mother is dying. Her last wish? To move back to her childhood home. So Kate's going to start at a new school with no friends, no other family and the fear her mother won't live past the fall.  
Then she meets Henry. Dark. Tortured. And mesmerizing. He claims to be Hades, god of the Underworld—and if she accepts his bargain, he'll keep her mother alive while Kate tries to pass seven tests.

Kate is sure he's crazy—until she sees him bring a girl back from the dead. Now saving her mother seems crazily possible. If she succeeds, she'll become Henry's future bride, and a goddess.

OMG...I have to read this book! I am a big Greek mythology geek; I fell in love with this cover it is so beautiful and the story is even prettier! I found this book in my fellow blog-anchor jess’s Goodreads To-Read pile. And it looks awesome; I really like the idea of Kate’s love interest “Dark. Tortured. And mesmerizing.” What a catch you are Henry, not to mention he is Hades-the underworld god! And he will take Kate as his bride with a bribe to save her mom. I am sure romance will ensue, and perhaps Kate will make Henry have a soul and what’s more show him what love is! This novel is going to be interesting, I have never heard of such a testing and twisted way to find love. I hope you can all get a chance to preorder or borrow and read it when it comes out this April 19th 2011.
P.s. What do you think these seven tests are? Comment your guess! =D

Saturday, April 9, 2011

In My Mailbox (3)

In my mailbox is hosted by Kristi @ The Story Siren. This week I only have one book, since I'm saving up for a lot of books that I plan to get in the near future. In my first IMM, I got Spirit Bound by Richelle Mead. This week I got Blood Promise by Richelle Mead, because it's the book before that one! But, now I can continue reading the Vampire Academy books! YAY!
Blood Promise (book #4) by Richelle Mead

-What did you get in your IMM?
-Any books you recommend? --Jess

Friday, April 8, 2011

Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict by Laurie Viera Rigler

Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict by
Laurie Viera Rigler Pages: 304 (Hardcover)
Publisher: Dutton Adult
Realeased in: August 2, 2007

(source: Goodreads)

 In this Jane Austen-inspired comedy, love story, and exploration of identity and destiny, a modern LA girl wakes up as an Englishwoman in Austen's time.

After nursing a broken engagement with Jane Austen novels and Absolut, Courtney Stone wakes up and finds herself not in her Los Angeles bedroom or even in her own body, but inside the bedchamber of a woman in Regency England. Who but an Austen addict like herself could concoct such a fantasy?

Not only is Courtney stuck in another woman's life, she is forced to pretend she actually is that woman; and despite knowing nothing about her, she manages to fool even the most astute observer. But not even her love of Jane Austen has prepared Courtney for the chamber pots and filthy coaching inns of nineteenth-century England, let alone the realities of being a single woman who must fend off suffocating chaperones, condomless seducers, and marriages of convenience. Enter the enigmatic Mr. Edgeworth, who fills Courtney's borrowed brain with confusing memories that are clearly not her own.

Try as she might to control her mind and find a way home, Courtney cannot deny that she is becoming this other woman-and being this other woman is not without its advantages: Especially in a looking-glass Austen world. Especially with a suitor who may not turn out to be a familiar species of philanderer after all.

I am a huge Jane Austen fan, so I naturally freaked over this book. The main character Courtney is sent backwards in time to Regency Era in London and surprise it is very different! I had a lot of expectations for this book, maybe I set myself for failure. I was expecting a tall dark brooding Mr.Darcy (from P&P) to jump out of every single scene (I know, delusional) but I was disappointed with the male lead--he was more realistic and according to his time than I like. It was funny and a good read, but not a lot of romance-->which was why I was there! I did find a lot of the main character’s comments and situations funny and actually laughed and enjoys a specific scene in there, which I recommend if you are a Jane Austen fan. Overall I enjoyed it, I would recommend it to Jane Austen fans—but if you are looking for romance look elsewhere.

Tuesday, April 5, 2011

Waiting On Wednesday (2)

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Jill @ Breaking The Spine. A book meme where you show what book you are excitedly waiting for it release.

My Pick:
The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

" Mara wakes up from a coma with no memory of the accident that caused the deaths of her best friend, boyfriend, and boyfriend's sister. The doctors tell her parents that starting over in a new state, a new school will be good for her and to let the memories come back on their own. But Mara's new start is anything but when she sees the faces of her dead friends everywhere and her world is falling apart. And then she begins to see people's deaths before they happen - at least she thinks that is what is happenning. On top of that, the most beautiful boy she has ever seen can't seem to leave her alone, but is his agenda more than he leads on?" Goodreads

Here we go readers! I’m pretty sure many of you have already seen this book in other blogs, but for those of you who haven’t – voila! I have to say, my jaw dropped to the floor when I saw that beautiful cover! The colors, they’re so pretty, and it sends of this vibe that just screams “I will blow you away!” It could just only be me! I absolutely love the figures on the cover, it took me a while to realize there was a guy behind the girl, made it even cooler!
Now, the plot sounds awesome. Especially the part where Mara starts to see the way people die before it comes true. What really got me intrigued is when it mentions that the most beautiful boy won’t leave her alone. What does he want? Or . . . what is he? that's my question. I get a bunch of ideas, but who knows. The only way to find out about this book is to read it! And I am seriously stoked till the day it is released! The cover itself just grabs your attention, and the summary as its partner-in-crime gives this book a place on my TBR pile!